Being a vegan is not easy especially when you are new to the whole business of changing your diet. There would be numerous occasions where you would have accidently eaten something that contains some meat product and regretted it later or you were served something that had these components. Being a vegan is not easy especially when you are new to the whole business of changing your diet. There would be numerous occasions where you would have accidently eaten something that contains some meat product and regretted it later or you were served something that had these components. Let’s look at some of the common items that are served in the market that are not really vegan. Next time even if you go to a vegetarian café or order food to be delivered you can check for these items and avoid them.
• Salad Dressings: Salads are delicious and are usually a favourite for non meat eaters and people that opt for a healthy diet. However something you may not be aware is that salad dressing often the very tasty kind has some form of meat extracts such as bacon fat or anchovies. So it is always good to inquire about the dressing that is used.
• Cheese: You may have not realised this, but some chesses products have an ingredient called rennet included, which is another name for stomach enzymes extracted from animals such as pigs and cows. Although most cheese items will have this listed on their packaging some will only state enzymes, leaving you guessing. So if you are really unable to decide the best option is to stick to vegan parmesan.
• Soups: When you go to a vegan restaurant Auckland one of the most prominent item on the list is the soups. Most often these items are made with either chicken or beef stock so unless you specifically ask for soups that include vegetables only, chances are you will be having some meat item unknowingly. Therefore it is in your interest to ask for animal free versions or locate authentic eateries that serve these kinds of foods.
• Worcestershire Sauce: this delicious additive that is used in most dishes naturally contains anchovies and because of this traditional sauce is not vegan at all. However there are many substitutes in the market that are pure vegan which you can try out. If that all fails soy sauce and adding some spices can really help make your dishes delicious.
• Gummy bears: as many of you would have seen viral videos going around these days, these yummy little bites are not vegan at all as they are made with gelatine which contains animal bones and tissue. But there are some gummy bears that are made with starch which are said to be vegan but you will have to do your own research to locate them. So if you are new to the whole vegan game, then these are some things you need to keep an eye out for especially when you eat out or make your own food.